The Monmouth County Vocational School District’s Practical Nursing program is one of studies and practical experience to prepare students to meet the State requirements for licensure as a practical nurse in New Jersey. Approved by the New Jersey State Board of Nursing, the New Jersey State Department of Education, and the Council on Occupation Education graduates are eligible to take the Practical Nursing Licensure Examination for the State of New Jersey.
Recently our LPN Program was ranked Number 2 in New Jersey!
Practical Nursing Program (LPN)
Starting in 1958, the MCVSD Practical Nursing Program has graduated over 4,100 students. For the past five years in a row the Nursing Licensure Examination (NCLEX) pass rate has remained at 100%. This course offers academic studies and clinical experience to prepare students to meet the state requirements for licensure as a practical nurse in New Jersey. It is approved by the New Jersey State Board of Nursing and the New Jersey Department of Education and accredited by Middle States. Graduates are eligible to take the NCLEX in New Jersey. Classes are admitted in September. Each class is assigned to an affiliating hospital/nursing home for clinical experience.
Tuition is $9,000.00 for the 2020-2021 school year payable in three payments. Financial aid and grants are available for qualified applicants. Approved by the Department of Education for veterans benefits and the Monmouth County Division of Employment & Training. Refunds will be honored based on board policy.
The following items are included in tuition:
- Two Clinical Uniforms
- Two Classroom Uniforms
- Clinical Watch
- Student Medical Kit
- Graduation Pin/Corsage
- NCLEX review
Applicants must be 18 years of age upon entering the program, must have a high school diploma or the equivalent, and pass a qualifying test ($65 fee). After passing the qualifying test the applicant must pay a $100 non-refundable registration fee. Not included in fees: a complete physical examination, a criminal background check, books, and a CPR certification.
NEW: Choice of two course sections.
Both sections meet Mondays through Fridays
From 7:30pm-2:30pm at Neptune Annex and clinical locations vary.
Accelerated, 10.5 month program
Course Dates: September 8, 2020-July 14, 2021
Extended-paced, 15 month program
Course Dates: November 23, 2020- January 24, 2022 Graduation Jan 25, 2022 *No classes last two weeks in July and all of August.
Tuition for both courses is $9,000.00
The Monmouth County Vocational School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, age, marital status, affectional or sexual orientation, gender, religion, disability, or socio-economic status.
Current Students: Link to Mrs. Law-Wright's website
Current Students: Link to Mrs. Munson's website
Current Students: Link to Ms. Franzo's website
Phase I: Classroom and Clinical
Anatomy & Physiology, Microbiology, Nutrition, Personal & Community Health, Pharmacology, Growth & Development, Personal & Professional Relationships, Fundamentals of Nursing and Vocational Aspects.
Phase II: Clinical and Classroom
Medical/Surgical Nursing I & II
Phase III: Clinical and Classroom
Obstetrics, Pediatrics, Geriatrics & Psychiatric Nursing
Tuition and Fees $9,000 for 2019/20 for Monmouth County Residents
Other expenses include physical exams, malpractice insurance, uniforms, textbooks, supplies, criminal background check, NJ State Board License fees, finger printing, NCLEX testing fees, and graduation fees (approx. $1,200).
- Tuition and fees are established by the Board of Education annually.
- Refunds made after the first class will be honored based on Board policy.
- Financial Aid available for qualifying students
- Program approved by the NJ Department of Education, NJ Board of Nursing, and the Monmouth County Division of Employment and Training.
- Accredited by Middle States
- Post Office boxes are not acceptable as proof of residents.
- 18 years of age upon entering program
- High School, GED, or equivalent diploma
- Official High School or equivalent transcript
- Qualifying Test (Entrance Exam: You must pre-register)
- Physical Examination
- Criminal Background Check
- Malpractice Insurance
- CPR For Healtcare Provider Certification
*New Application Process as of 5/2020
You will need to take the test through the Ocean County College Testing Department (OCC) and then you will send the Monmouth County Vocational Director of Adult Education, Dana Schaed Ed.D., an email with a copy of your scores. A screenshot or copy of your scores should be sent via email to email@example.com.
The qualifying test has four sections: Reading, Math, Science and English, and will take up to four hours to complete. The OCC test administration fee is $43.50, which is payable by credit, debit or prepaid gift card which is payable when you schedule your test. In addition, on the day of the test, you will need to pay the $70 test and proctoring fee to ATI. There are a limited number of virtual testing appointments every Wednesday and Thursday at 9AM with corresponding Dry Runs on Mondays and Tuesdays at 9AM. You can schedule your own TEST appointments and pay the $43.50 fee online at go.ocean.edu/test. OCC Testing will schedule your Dry Run.
In order to secure your seat for the Fall, please take the entrance test as soon as possible. Once we receive your scores you will get an email from us with next steps.
Follow these steps below:
- Go to go.ocean.edu/test (just type that in as the URL)
- Choose the exam group: TEAS Pre-Nursing and Allied Health (Remote Only)
- Then, choose the exam: Non-OCC Remote TEAS Test ($43.50)
- Then, just fill out the form, choose the test date and submit.
- You will receive a confirmation for your test date immediately; email confirmation and additional pre-test requirements will follow under separate cover.
If you have any questions about scheduling, please contact Michelle Thompson, Sr. Test Administration Technician, at 732.255.0400 x2440 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org.